PDA

View Full Version : Wtf is this email?


tripp
01-04-2005, 02:03 AM
I got this email the other day. Supposed to be about vbulliten.

Date: Sun, 2 Jan 2005 22:45:18 +0100
To: acmeanvilcompany@yahoo.com
Subject: vBulletin Toolbox - Forum Security Program
From: "Xerosis" <xerosis@yahoo.com> Add to Address Book



Dear user,

We have just released a new version of our forum security program
vBulletin Toolbox. It has several advanced features, such as a mass posting
tool, mass user registration, forum & topic ID scanner, v3 arcade mod
cheater, and lots more. It also has the ability to use proxies if you
don't want to be detected. It's great for testing the limits of your own
board, or taking out a board you don't like.

You can view it at
http://www.xerosis-software.com/products/vbtoolbox/index.html

The link was sent out wrong to a few people, sorry for the duplicate
e-mail that some of you got. This will be the last e-mail you will
recieve concerning this topic. If you have any questions or comments, feel
free to stop by and post them in the support forum.

Thank you for your interest!

Just thought you should know. it may not mean anything but the part that worried me was the" or taking out a board you dont like" part.

Eric
01-04-2005, 05:55 AM
Anyone else get this email as well?

I have gotten that email twice, but it was sent to my email address that I don't have associated in any way with the BOTL.org forums

My suspicion is it is related to great number of recent phpBB venerabilities but I'm looking into it as well.

derek
01-04-2005, 06:04 AM
I have gotten it over 10 times to 3 different accounts and I never had a vBulletin board or anything

mark5
01-04-2005, 06:43 AM
I got this e-mail twice myself I just shook my head and deleted it and then ran a virus scan.

tripp
01-04-2005, 08:12 AM
I did not click on the link. It had been sent to me twice as well.
I am very paranoid about viruses and have several layers of protection.
(loose all your info to one due to your kids downloading shit and you will be the same way)
It seems bots get a lot of info and email addresses from bulletin boards for spam.
Problem is we put our real name and addresses on here because we are trusting of other BOTLs.

Ironman
01-04-2005, 08:45 AM
I got it twice too??

Ironman

RiverRat
01-04-2005, 09:44 AM
It came to me. Twice.

Poni
01-04-2005, 10:49 AM
I got it also.

DRL1211
01-04-2005, 10:50 AM
I got it twice. Candon (pharmgirl on CW) who isn't on this board got it a couple times as well.:smt102

Sean9689
01-04-2005, 11:20 AM
Death to the cigar forum? I don't think so...:smt065

Garnivore
01-04-2005, 03:24 PM
I got it last week and deleted it without clicking on anything.

Chinkowski
01-04-2005, 03:50 PM
i got it twice myself. i didnt click on the link, but its kind of disturbing dont you think????

Eric
01-04-2005, 03:56 PM
I'm still pretty certain the emails are not exploited from the BOTL VBulletin forums. I have a special email account for this site alone and it has not received said email. My regular email that I usually sign up on other forums (all subjects) has gotten it. PhpBB has came under quite a few vulnerabilities in the past month, hence why the forum moved over to VBulletin.

I just want to make sure that everyone knows that said email is not, to the best of my knowledge, originating from an exploit here simply because the email content is targeted toward the VBulletin software.

Has anyone gotten this email that is different from the email that you registered with at other forums?

tobby4
01-05-2005, 12:17 AM
i got it twice as well... But it wasnt the email addy associated with this site so I dont know..

Newt
01-05-2005, 12:25 AM
I got it twice as well, but the email addy that I use is the same for all forums like this... sorry I couldnt help ya narrow it down.

sucol
01-05-2005, 05:23 AM
I've gotten a few from these characters. I think they harvest e-mail addresses from cigarweekly.com

Embers
01-16-2005, 12:35 AM
I have gotten this one or similar messages, I bet 40 times now on my University e-mail address. It gets spammed pretty badly.

ehdg
01-16-2005, 01:46 AM
I too got that email. I right away deleted and moved on. I never click on links in those kind of emails. I'm always highly paranoid about these types of emails in fact!

ehdg

Ironman
01-16-2005, 07:28 AM
I too got that email. I right away deleted and moved on. I never click on links in those kind of emails. I'm always highly paranoid about these types of emails in fact!

ehdg

Erich your just plain old paranoid :smt046

Ironman

ehdg
01-16-2005, 10:22 AM
Erich your just plain old paranoid :smt046

Ironman

Rich, you think I'm paranoid you should meet my wife!! She makes me look normal when it comes to certain shit!! But I do love the little woman even when I she drives me to smoke!! :smt054
ehdg