Close
Famous Smoke

Default How do you hold the pipe in your mouth?

I've been smoking a pipe for about six months after switching over from cigars. I always thought it was a given that you held the pipe in your mouth with your teeth, but from what I've read, teeth marks on a pipe are frowned upon. Do most folks hold the pipe firmly with their lips and not their teeth? When I do this it causes my lips to get fatigued and sore.

Most of the time I have the pipe in my hand, but if I'm leaving it in my mouth I use my teeth. But I don't really bite down hard, if anything it more or less just rests between them.
    "If I cannot smoke in heaven, then I shall not go."
    - Mark Twain

I hold it in my hand. Can't stand getting smoke up my nose. I don't let a cigar sit in my mouth either.
    There's nothing wrong with drinking before noon. Especially if you're supposed to be at work.

I'd like a clarification on this point too, being new to the bowl, I find it pretty difficult to hold on to the pipe using just my lips

Yes, teeth marks are frowned upon, but there are some ways to keep them to a minimum. Vulcanite stems are softer and require a gentle bite if your going to hold them in your mouth. With my vulcanite stemed pipes I try to minimize holding them in my mouth, with the exception of the few I have that have really good balance that just hang there and never seem to get a nick. Lucite stems are much harder and don't usually don't show teeth marks unless you chomp down really, really, really hard on the stem. I presonally prefer lucite stems as I don't have to worry about teeth marks or oxidation. Some people don't like the hardness of lucite as they say its hard on the teeth so it comes down to personal choice.

I hold it in my hand or set it down in a stand.
    Quote Originally Posted by Harvard View Post
    There was a box of Te Amo, a donkey and a very courageous young lady.....Juarez, Mexico 1992.....

I moved. The addy you have is wrong.