What's new

03 Hamlet Double Torpedo Shaggy.

Jfire

BoM 9/9' 9/11' 8/12'
Rating - 100%
391   0   0
This cigar was gifted to me by Aaron (GibbleGuts) in Feb 09. I've been patiently storing it for the right time to review it. Well there is no better time then right now.
Time:255 pm
Finish time: 455pm
Drink: Coke
Temp 70 degrees inside the BL.
Music: The Black Crowes radio (Pandora)

Initial impressions:
Size 7.5 ish by 56.(foot end)
To say I'm pumped to smoke this cigar is a understatement. I've been staring at it for a couple of years. Coming from Aaron is a treat in itself. No questions of provenance. I know exactly what this cigar is and where it came from.
Prelight review:
This cigar has some big veins showing. Slightly mushy(farm roll) on the foot end but fairly tight towards the head. These cigars usually are not pressed (or placed in one for that matter). The wrapper is flawless with no sunspots or any other imperfections. I cut the head of this torpedo with a double guillotine cutter to show a firm (almost to firm of a draw). I probably should of dry boxed it for a few days and now I'm paying for it. :stickbeat ( humi was at 65% and I've had not one prob on a cc in the last 6 months)
1st inch:
Lit with box matches and taking my time I light the shaggy foot. It smells great but taking my first draw I get a blast of bitterness. (Hoping this will soon fade as I hit the wrapper). Not much more just bitter and aged tobacco.
1st 3rd: