What's new

A Hint of LEATHER?

Donk

WTF is a Donk?
Rating - 100%
57   0   0
I have been smoking cigars for over two years now. I have tried tones of cigars and over the coarse of 2 years my tastes have changed, I now enjoy the finer cigars out there such as Opus, Padron, Pepin, and ISOM's the most. But here is my question for all you brothers out there.

Is it important to be able to say that this cigar has a floral, nutty, leathery, toasty, coffee, or chocolatey taste to them? To this day I could only tell you that it has a spicey peppery taste or it is a nice smooth creamy. What is it about all the cigar reviews. am I missing out on the cigar experience by not being able to tell you that it had a hint of rose, and a touch of toast? I guess I just lite them up and enjoy smoking a good cigar. One final thought, What the hell does leather taste like?

Volusianator

BoM Nov '07 & Jan '09
Rating - 93.8%
86   4   1
Kelly, it's frustrating but easy, some can taste things some cant. It doesn't make anyone better or worse, but it's just the fact. Do this, read a review and keep it in your craw, then get that smoke and during it, try to pick out the flavors, it works for me.

Altercall

I beat you all May '08 :)
Rating - 100%
121   0   0
Everyone's palette is different. I can really pull alot of spices out as long as it's smooth, but for the life of me I can't see the difference among different Sun Growns. They all taste harsh and bitter to me. I can taste even the slightest hint of coffee, but I have yet to taste toast in a cigar. The point is that everyone is different. All that matters is that you can tell what you like.

Case in point, I just called a cigar in our review contest a no doubt Sun Grown. It tasted like all Sun Growns taste to me right now. I think it's going to end up being that it was just a bad cigar that was harsh and bitter. In the end, all I need to know is that I didn't like it.

Benzopyrene

BoM June 08
Rating - 100%
108   0   0