Boveda Smart Sensor

Discussion in 'Storage' started by MattL, Jan 12, 2018.

  1. MattL

    MattL

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Pickerington, Ohio
    I apologize if this was posted somewhere else but thought I'd way in. Is anybody else out there using the Boveda smart sensor to monitor their humidors? I picked up one a few weeks ago and really like it. It's a pretty good deal right now at $49.99 with that you get 4 of the larger Boveda packs and a calibration kit. You can also just get the sensor by itself for $39.99. It's Bluetooth 4 only and has a temperature, humidity, and an impact sensor if you choose to enable that. I have a cabinet humidor in the basement and I'm able to get readings from anywhere in the house. If you're a tech geek like me it's pretty neat.

    https://bovedainc.com/app/
     
  2. ChuckMejia

    ChuckMejia The General Donor 4

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    7,093
    Media:
    10
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    15,057
    Location:
    Jacksonville, NC
    I’m not a fan of leaving Bluetooth on as it drains the battery faster

    I use this one and it has 3 sensors and is very accurate.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Old Smokey

    Old Smokey

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    1,820
    Location:
    Joplin, MO
    Sounds like it would be an old jib in the bibby, but I personally don't see a need for it. You might ask @bwhite220, he may have some experience with a good bit of jibby bibbing. He has farm animals. :chicken:
     
    bwhite220 likes this.
  4. bwhite220

    bwhite220 BoM Jan 2038 Donor 3

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    2,611
    Media:
    73
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    10,061
    Location:
    Northwest Arkansas
    My farm animals are actually named "Jibby" and "Bibby" and they are all mine. Get your own.
     
    Old Smokey likes this.
  5. CVAC085

    CVAC085 Donor 4

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    10,989
    Likes Received:
    22,939
    Location:
    Long Island, New York, USA
    A buddy of mine just picked one up for his wino, thanks to me pushing him off the slopes and posting a link to it for him when it came up in conversation. I'll reach out to him in a few days to see what he thinks about it. A lot of people seem very happy with bovedas, KL or the heartfelt beads depending on who you ask.
     
    Old Smokey likes this.
  6. 5280Nomad

    5280Nomad

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Colorado
    I have it too and I really like it. It's a good monitor without having to go into the backroom. I also use it to track the history of my humidor. I am in the process of setting up my coolerdor and the history is good for monitoring.
     
    CVAC085 likes this.
  7. dalsaadhl

    dalsaadhl

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am currently using 10 of them. I have them connected to an iPad via Bluetooth and monitor them remotely via the app from My other devices. So far so good. Not a fan of the re-order part of the app. But the discount for ordering the sensor and the gives a packs is nice. Has historical data in the app, doses not look like u can import the data Into a csv file like the sensor push.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
     
  8. 5280Nomad

    5280Nomad

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Colorado
    Did you do anything special to set it up as a bridge? I have a device at home and it doesn’t seem to be transmitting to my phone when I’m not home.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  9. dalsaadhl

    dalsaadhl

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need a second device to act as the bridge, it must be Bluetooth and use an OS compatible with the app, then any device that has the app can be used to monitor or interact with the sensors

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
     
  10. 5280Nomad

    5280Nomad

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Colorado
    I didn’t explain myself well. I have an iPhone connected at home and then my phone on me. I did get it working now. Thanks!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  11. MattL

    MattL

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Pickerington, Ohio
    Can you tell me how you did this? I'm curious.
     
  12. 5280Nomad

    5280Nomad

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Colorado
    Basically, put the app on your WiFi device st home. The app itself updates every ~30 minutes and keeps that data. When you open your app on your device away from home, your info will be there.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2018 at 7:24 PM
  13. MattL

    MattL

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Pickerington, Ohio
    Cool thanks, man. I'll give that a try.
     

Share This Page