What's new

Concerns about mold?

Rating - 100%
25   0   0
A couple weeks ago, I received a cigar as a gift and placed it in my desktop humidor. Have about 150 sticks in there.

The cigar looks fine but I just found out that the store where it was purchased has a walk-in humidor with several boxes of moldy cigars in their shop. It's a relatively new store but how they never noticed this, is beyond me.

Right now there's no sign of trouble but should I be concerned about mold or spores or something?

Rupe

Suburban robot that monitors reality -BOM Feb.'13
Rating - 100%
401   0   0
I'm no expert but as long as it is not showing any mold and the humidity in your humidor is at a reasonable level I don't think you have any cause for concern.

If you are worried about it, just smoke it instead of putting it in with the rest of your sticks....problem solved.

Rating - 100%
25   0   0
If you are worried about it, just smoke it instead of putting it in with the rest of your sticks....problem solved.
Yeah, I took it out and plan on smoking it but the problem would be that it's already been in the humidor for a couple weeks.

sofc

I hate E and Chef
Rating - 100%
276   0   0
I'm no humidification expert, I just play one on BOTL but I don't think mold can stay hidden and jump after a period of time. Not like beatles that can stay dormant for a while. Especially since there are no mold spores on the cigar you brought home.

Rating - 100%
25   0   0
I'm no humidification expert, I just play one on BOTL but I don't think mold can stay hidden and jump after a period of time. Not like beatles that can stay dormant for a while. Especially since there are no mold spores on the cigar you brought home.
Thanks! That's what I was wondering.
I'm not panicking by any means, just curious and slightly concerned.

Rating - 100%
40   0   0
What is the maximum time a beetle can stay dormant? If you have no sign of beetles and have not added new cigars are you safe after 3 years?

sofc