What's new

Driving?

Rating - 100%
37   0   0
So for you guys that smoke on your commute or just when your out & about, is it aggravating? I’ve about got to the point that I’ve learned to pack a bowl & puff on it correctly so that it doesn’t go out & the pipe doesn’t overheat. I still have to do a relight every now & then but not as often as before. I’m a police officer as most of you already know. I’m about to swap to night shift & it’s nice to smoke on something while patrolling around on some of our rural country roads at night when there’s not a lot going on. I used to smoke cigarettes so they weren’t an issue, just light, smoke, & toss when your done or have to put it out quickly. I tried it a few times with cigars. Most of the time I got to smoke a whole one, but there were several times that I had to toss a decent stick half way through to go to a call, stop a car, etc.. With a pipe, I could just set it down to do whatever I needed to do & relight when I get done. But, is it a pain to drive & keep it tamped & burning, & deal with relights?

Rating - 100%
74   0   0
No problem piping while driving:
- Hold your pipe at the correct 10 o'clock position, and your tamper at the 2.
- For relights simply hit your flashers. Folks will get the hell out of your way so you can relight in comfort (and safety).

All things considered I'd think relights would be the biggest PITA while driving.
The best advise I ever got was to smoke your baccy just when you think it's too dry.
For dampish blends I'll lay out my baccy the night before or give it the 8 sec. nuke treatment before packing.

Rating - 100%
37   0   0
I smoke mostly when driving. I learned at a young age to drive with my knees so I can have my hands free lol. But really, that makes tamping and relighting a lot easier. Are you guys allowed to smoke in your patrol cars?