What's new

Dumb question

Rating - 100%
57   0   0
I don't smoke many non-Cubans any more so I'm not sure about this but are beetles strictly a Cuban thing? If so, are non-Cubans treated with heat or something to kill the little bastards?

Rating - 100%
206   0   0
Beetles are a tobacco thing ... you can get them in any cigar under the right conditions. I've read where some mfgs were freezing their cigar prior to shipment. I do remember reading that Lew Rothman (of JR's) had a huge freezer in his warehouse.

jcgoldner

Jan '06 BoM
Rating - 100%
63   0   0
I have no actual experience with this but I'll tell you what I've read in my reseach on the topic.

It depends, bad answer I know, but some people say they haven't noticed a difference and others say they have noticed a difference in their smokes. Most suggest if you feel more secure by freezing them to give it a shot on a small batch of cigars that you are familier with and see what you think after the thawing process. Good Luck!

Rating - 100%
76   0   0
I know for a fact Padron and Caribe cigars (Camacho) freeze their stock. I have been in both of their warehouses. I would assume most domestic manufacturers do also.

Does it change the flavor? I belong to the camp that says "no". I think that the two brands mentioned above are pretty tasty so how bad can the taste be affected?

tubaman

3 Time BoM
Rating - 100%
173   0   0
I don't know if NC's are treated with anything, I have no knowledge of that. I DO know that I now freeze all cigars that go in my humidor now. I had a MINOR beetle problem, and I don't want to take any chances. I haven't noticed any change in flavor but that's just me.

Some vendors freeze their cigars in their warehouse. I doubt that any vendor would do this if there was any noticeable difference in flavor after freezing.

Rating - 0%
0   0   0