What's new

Making Bacon

Rating - 100%
7   0   0
Any brothers out there make their own bacon and willing to share some recipes and tips? I have a lot of experience with homemade jerky, summer sausage, pepper stix, and all kinds of smoked meats and fish, but none with bacon. Do you like a wet or dry cure and advantages to each. I know I could go to a food forum, but there are a lot of brothers here with different hobbies that might be able to give some advice and this is the only forum I frequent on a regular basis.

Thanks,
Mike

Almi

Jim
Rating - 100%
7   0   0
I have made my own Canadian bacon using Hi Mountain Buckboard Bacon cure kit. Right now I can get whole pork loins for $1.99 a Pound and that was my reasoning for giving it a try. I would rather have bacon for breakfast but the Canadian bacon really shines when I whip up a batch of Calico Beans. I use over 2 pound but then again that is a double batch. It is always requested for our family Christmas party and there are no leftovers. That over 6 quarts :jawdrop:

Here is a link to the kit:
http://www.himtnjerky.com/Buckboard-Bacon-Cure.html

herfdog

I am no rocket surgeon
Rating - 100%
24   0   0
I have made my own Canadian bacon using Hi Mountain Buckboard Bacon cure kit. Right now I can get whole pork loins for $1.99 a Pound and that was my reasoning for giving it a try. I would rather have bacon for breakfast but the Canadian bacon really shines when I whip up a batch of Calico Beans. I use over 2 pound but then again that is a double batch. It is always requested for our family Christmas party and there are no leftovers. That over 6 quarts :jawdrop:

Here is a link to the kit:
http://www.himtnjerky.com/Buckboard-Bacon-Cure.html
But it cannot be canadian bacon if its made in the us!! That is like canadian whiskey made in scotland. They call it scotch rofl

(Do not take this post seriously...)

Rating - 100%
6   0   0