What's new

Newb Questions

Rating - 100%
6   0   0
So I tried a pipe recently. a few newbie questions:

1. I bought a mid range tobacco and a cheap pipe from a b&m. I enjoyed it, but all the while I couldn't help feeling like I was smoking something from Walgreens.
Would a more expensive pipe change this?
Are there blends you can buy online that would feel a bit more "upscale," or is the pipe experience going to be more backwoods toasty baccy by nature?
Is all pipe tobacco dry cured, or are there blends that would need to be humidified like cigars?

2. I needed to relight pretty frequently, maybe once per 1-3 minutes over the course of 60 minutes. I think one time it stayed lit for over 5 minutes but that was the exception. Is that normal? Is there a trick to keeping it lit?

3. Recommended blends/online distributors if you care to share.

4. What is the benefit of an expensive $200+ pipe? Any brands you would recommend?

Thanks,
Acer

Rating - 100%
5   0   0
I'm very new at piping also but since we are shareing the same learning process I'd like to chime in

#1 did you "break in" the new pipe? ie build a bit of a carbon coating on the inside of the bowl before smoking a full bowl
#2 I am finding a very broad range of tobaccos and tobacco flavorings. The backwoods, backy flavoring may be due to Kentucky fired cure tobacco in the blend.
#3 The type of pipe you are using has an affect on how you smoke and the flavors generated by the blend. Some tobacco burns hot due to higher sugar content or sweet blends and maybe should be smoked in a narrower, higher bowled pipe.
#4 do a search on how to light and smoke a pipe on Youtube they address your issues of lighting and relightingt. it takes practice but think of good BBQ when smoking a pipe Low and Slow is the way to go

The sites I am finding helpful are

Tobacco Reviews | Browse and Review your Favorite Pipe Tobacco Products
50+ Amazing Tobacco Pipe Shapes Explained - [Infographic]