What's new

Next Restoration

Rating - 100%
51   0   0
It had a couple of fills scratches that kept me from keeping it natural. It now has three coats of the dye and I just put the first coat of Danish oil on it. I'll let the oil dry/absorb for at least 24 hours before deciding what to do next. I'll either put a second coat of oil on it at that point or I may let it dry another 24 hours and then polish it up.

Rating - 100%
51   0   0
I haven't yet for two reasons: 1) I am still learning and, although I am really happy with the outcome of them, they're not up to a quality that I would be proud enough of to sell and 2) I've been doing the refinishing mostly on inexpensive pipes that I get from Ebay for just a few dollars (other than a couple of gifted ones I've received). Even if I nailed down the process and made a gorgeous pipe, I could not, in good conscience, sell a cheap ass pipe for any kind of a profit.

I am, however, trying to tweak my restoration process in the hopes that I can help brothers here out by doing restoration work for them for the cost of shipping and a cigar or two. But that's down the road.

Rating - 100%
51   0   0
start searching Ebay. There are two main parts to a restoration: the cleaning/sanitizing, and the aesthetic restoration. Sometimes, there is a third component - repair.

Ignoring the repair part for now, the sanitizing and cleaning is pretty straightforward but can be nasty if you get a really dirty pipe. But, in the end, with some effort and time, you can bring an estate back to life of all you want to do is smoke it.

So, keeping that in mind, go ahead and find a cheapie on the bay. Worst case scenario is that you totally eff up the finish but, as long as it is clean and sanitized, you can still smoke it.

Rating - 100%
29   0   0
start searching Ebay. There are two main parts to a restoration: the cleaning/sanitizing, and the aesthetic restoration. Sometimes, there is a third component - repair.