What's new

Not great experience

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, first post. I'm relatively new to cigars, smoking regular for just about a year and a half, got my humidor up around 9 months ago.

Tonight had a not entirely enjoyable smoke and had a few questions. The cigar, which I've had many of this example, had a much darker ash than I had seen before and a somewhat bitter taste. Not unsmokable but not pleasant. The ash was also less than firm, falling easily after just over 3/4 inch. It had been in the humidor for two months (not an unusual length for me) and the humidor has always been stable right around 65%. I'm wondering if this sounds like a storage/condition problem or can I just write it off as a bad example. Like I said, I've had quite a few of these, bought from the same local store and it's a well known, good quality brand. Thanks in advance.

Rating - 100%
5   0   0
It's not that unusual to get a bad cigar once in a while. Also consider it came off a shelf in a shop and there is no telling what happened to it before you burned it. Don't make big changes to your setup unless you continue to have problems but you might want to move your cigars around a bit just incase you have some uneven areas in the humidor

Welcome to the forum

Capn_Jackson

A Razorback lost in Texas land
Rating - 100%
16   0   0
Agreeing with @Boudie, moving cigars around the humidor occasionally is helpful. Rotating cigars can be important depending on your setup, ensuring that all your sticks benefit from airflow. As for the unpleasant cigar, it does happen sometimes. I wouldn’t suggest any major changes unless the problem is consistently recurring.

Welcome to the group!

Texican

Suburban Legend
Rating - 100%
6   0   0