What's new

Origin of tobacco in a particular cigar batch.

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I am a newbie but soaking up information like a sponge! I just stumbled across this site and joined up as a new member. I wonder if someone could shed light on a dilemma.
I recently bought a large cigar collection at an estate sale (200 boxes).
They were originally bought from cigar factories under the private label of the person who got approval for 3 Trademarks: La Eminencia, N E Plus Ultra, and Jack Himes - NE Plus Ultra. Trademarks for all three were approved in 1985 and 1986 but were then abandoned in 1986.

I don't believe these cigars ever hit any retail market as they were made circa 1999 and the guy died before ever getting them out of storage. Is there somewhere I can send samples to where they can be cut open to see where the tobaccos came from? Wrappers are all similar light tan/brown. Some cigars boxes have tax stamps and some don't. All show hand made in the Honduras, Dominican Republic, and the Canary Islands. No boxes have S/N's. They appear to be high end cigars that are in need of re-humidification (I am currently using Boveda packs to re-hydrate). Fillers are all full leaf with no added pieces. Most are individually wrapped which helped preserve them. They have good draw and smoke well for their age.

Thank you for any help you can give me.

One more thing....Any idea what the life span is for tobacco beetle eggs? Could there still be viable hatch-able eggs (17 years old) if subjected to above 72/72 environment? I have put some boxes in freezer for 3 days (and fridge to lessen shock) but not sure if this is even applicable or necessary now. About 250 boxes were subjected to the same environment...about 50 boxes were destroyed by the bug. I am wondering if the remaining 200 boxes are less apt to have this problem because they did not get it when the opportunity presented itself?

Sincerely,
Tom Schaefer

Rating - 0%
0   0   0