What's new

!PSA! CryptoLocker Ransom-ware virus

Rating - 100%
15   0   0
MODS: Please feel free to edit/delete this post if it is out of place.

Guys/Gals,

I work in IT, and feel the need to spread this word along to others. We have seen customers infected with this new type of Malicious Ware. We personally have not seen anything we cannot fix, (regarding virus') in maybe 10 or 15 years. However this new trick has really screwed over some people/companies, and the only fix we have seen has been restoring backups.

Brief summary:
An email will come in to someone within your network (the one we have seen has been with regards to a payroll service) with an attachment (usually PDF). This individual will open the attachment and catch a bunch of junk on the screen (or nothing happens at all), while in the background a "Ransom-Ware" infection installs on the client machine, and begins its work to encrypt the local user profile's documents, pictures, etc. This software also will reach out to any mapped network drives (or servers) and begin encrypting those files there as well.

The Encryption:
The ransom-ware will encrypt certain files using a mixture of 2048 bit RSA and AES encryption keys.

The Ransom:
When the encryption process has finalized its task, the user who infected everything will begin seeing a display stating that "Your personal files are encrypted" and to send a ransom of either $100 or $300 for it to decrypt said files. (it will provide you with a list of the files and drives of each individual file that has been encrypted).

The Catch:
You have 72 hours to pay any ransom to decrypt your files, once you have seen the big read screen stating that "Your personal files are encrypted". If you let the timer run out and have not paid the ransom, their server will remove the key, and all hope is lost.

If you pay the ransom: