What's new

Question about temp and lowering humidity

Rating - 100%
3   0   0
I made this cabinet:http://galleries.cigarweekly.com/hawkan2580/album01

Not the best of all jobs but I am a beginner in wood working..I have also done some cosmetic improvements since the pics :oops: . The outside wood is a hardwood called silky oak and inside, it's totally clad in spanish cedar with drawers etc made of spanish cedar... doors and lid also have weather strip to seal properly and all hardware is solid brass..
I am running an Cigar Oasis+ in this one (running is hardly the case as it doesn't have to work much at all)

Here in OZ we get really hot and humid summers (I am in the tropical region..) hot enough that aircons for the rooms only take the edge off.. not cool things down to desired cigar storage temperatures.. (62-65f..) the humidity level in the air is nearly always higher than what I want for the cigars (around 70-80% is fairly common in 3 out of 4 seasoms) the only time the cigar oasis actually realy kicks in is if I have left the door shut for extended periods ( a few days or more) or if we are in winter....

Question: Is there a good way of getting a temperature control installed
and is there humidity controll devices that can handle removing excess humidity in a controllable way that would be able to run side by side with the cigar oasis or is the oasis something that I should give up on??

Thanks mates, I would appreciate any suggestion on temp and humidity recommendation :D

Viper139

The Bead Man
Rating - 100%
32   0   0
You may be a good candidate for a wine cooler converted to a humidor. The coolers generally take alot of the moisture out of the inside of the cabinet. Then the cooler will take out the excess and the humidifier will work better at putting it back at the right level. Just a thought.

Rating - 100%
3   0   0
Viper139 said: