What's new

Set up humidor

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone. I am new to cigar and everything. I am facing some problems so I hope I can get some advise/help here.
I had a humidor before and it was a cheap one. It didn't maintain the humidity so I bought a better one last week.
The new humidor is diamond crown 40ct. I looked at youtube video and followed the steps to season it two days ago and waited for 24 hours but it didn't maintain 70% humidity. I re-seasoned it again yesterday. Hope that it will stay for 70%. (after re-seasoned it, I put a boveda 75% pack with two gel humidity jar)
I am not sure whats the reason that it didn't stay 70% after I seasoned it. I did the dollar bill test and it seems seal good. But again because I am new to this so I am not sure if the seal is good or bad. (This is a diamond crown so I hope it is good.....) Also, I am living in Utah so it is really dry here. I heard that I should keep it at 72% since the weather is so dry. Please give me some advice/ help of how to season it and maintain 70% humidity.
Thank you.

Rating - 100%
5   0   0
You probably need more time, there is a lot of wood that needs to absorb water, especially in such a dry environment. How are the gel jars affecting the 75% bovedas?

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You probably need more time, there is a lot of wood that needs to absorb water, especially in such a dry environment. How are the gel jars affecting the 75% bovedas?
I guess I wasn't explain clear enough. The first time I seasoned it I used a sponge and distilled water to wipe the humidor, then I put two jars in the humidor and let it sit for 24hrs. (That's what YouTube tells me) but then it doesn't maintain the 70% after 24hrs so I re-seasoned it. And this time I put a 75% boveda pack with two jar, hoping that more humidification stuff can make the humidor stay at 70%. I'm not sure if I'm wrong with seasoning or anything.
BTW, it was 62% after 24 hrs of seasoning it the first time.

Rating - 100%
5   0   0