What's new

Should a humidor be 100% air tight?

Rating - 100%
32   0   0
First let me say that I'm new to the cigar world. I just registered on this site and have been "studying" for just about the entire day.
I think you all have done a terrific job at answering common questions with very in-depth explanations. So much so, that it might prove difficult to get my post count high enough to be able to browse the members sale area... Anyway, back on topic.

Should a humidor be 100% airtight? In my reading, albeit not on this site, I read that a humidor should be able to exchange air so as not to accumulate mold.
Contrary to that point I've also read that they should be as airtight as possible, and the utilization of distilled water is what will keep the mold at bay.

Which is the correct thought here?

Hoshneer

Drew Estate NotRex
Rating - 100%
96   0   0
I really think its up to you. I am guessing that some things are taken to seriously. I am good as long as it has a good rh%. I can't say much though my wineador has a spot on seal. ;)

Last edited:

javajunkie

BoM July '12
Rating - 100%
343   0   0
i think the MOST common view will be "mostly tight". do the dollar test: if you can pull a bill out freely through the seal, it is too tight, and if it will not release, it is too snug.

the most important thing is going to be maintaining the temp and humidity. if it leaks like a sieve, but you can keep up with filling the hydration, it will work. if you are using tupperware, let it breathe at least once a month (but hey, if you found us you WILL be in your stash more than once monthly!).

and this is just for short to midterm. i am just starting to play with aging, and defer to anyone who wants to chime in on the 5yr and up forecast.

danthebugman

BoM Nov '10
Rating - 100%
124   0   0