What's new

Sleep study

Rating - 100%
41   0   0
So, as some of you know, I am a local delivery driver which means i need an upgraded license (not a cdl) but am still under DOT regulations. The past 2 years i have not had any issues getting my medical card to be able to drive.
This year the doc told me i am at risk for sleep apnea and i need to do a sleep study. I am kinda upset about this because i have heard some bad things about the test.
Does anybody have any experience with this stuff?
Thanks guys.

bwhite220

Brandon | BotM Jan 2038
Rating - 100%
91   0   0
So, as some of you know, I am a local delivery driver which means i need an upgraded license (not a cdl) but am still under DOT regulations. The past 2 years i have not had any issues getting my medical card to be able to drive.
This year the doc told me i am at risk for sleep apnea and i need to do a sleep study. I am kinda upset about this because i have heard some bad things about the test.
Does anybody have any experience with this stuff?
Thanks guys.
Pretty sure I’m headed down the same path, bro. I’m also interested in hearing what others have to say about the process.

Rating - 92.9%
20   1   0
I've been using a CPAP for the past 4 years and it's one of the best things I've done. A sleep study isn't bad, but you will have to be able to sleep with various wires attached to your chest, head, and legs; and also you'll have to sleep with a CPAP mask on partway through the night.

How your sleep study goes really depends on how you deal with these things. Mine went very well - I had a friendly staff and I sleep through pretty much anything, so it was no trouble for me to sleep with all this. I have a coworker however who has attempted a sleep study twice unsuccessfully due to not being able to sleep while being hooked up. Some places will allow you to take a MILD sleep aid, but most won't because you have to be woken up a couple times during the test.