What's new

Stocks for Newbs

Rating - 100%
74   0   0
So I just signed up with ING to make some investments in the market. I am a complete newb and was wondering if anyone has any pointers, tips, stock to look at.

I only put in $200 to start very minimal to test the waters. Might start adding $200 a month but we will see what happens.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

AlohaStyle

BoM Sept '12 & Aug '13
Rating - 100%
185   0   0
How about 43% of 1 share of Apple! :)

I don't get into financial advice with people, but do your own research on their website and other financial sites before you just start buying. Good luck to you... gotta start somewhere!

Last edited:

Skitalets

Laguito No. 2
Rating - 100%
73   0   0
Diversification is one of the most important concepts in investing -- it'll help you avoid losing your shirt if one or another company tanks. So with just a few hundred bucks invested, you need to spread that around a bunch of companies as cheaply as possible.

At the level you're at, I'd strongly recommend investing in an inexpensive exchange-traded fund (ETF) investing in an entire index. The iShares S&P 500 fund is a good option (ticker IVV). If you want international exposure, look for a fund that tracks the MSCI All-World index instead.

Once you're investing $5-10K, you can put a grand in each of 5-10 stocks and achieve decent diversification. (Academic studies show most of the improvement in returns from diversification can be achieved with that many positions, and you get diminishing returns beyond 15 stocks.)

I'll copy what I wrote elsewhere:

Sounds like you've learned two of the most important lessons about investing: 1) risk and reward are linked, it's nearly impossible to gain higher returns without taking on more risk, and 2) no one is right 100% of the time, great traders are right 60% of the time.
Be very wary of get-rich-quick schemes and you stand a good chance of becoming rich slowly, which is a pretty nice outcome!

Rating - 100%