What's new

suppressing mold growth in pectin glue

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OK, it has happened to me for the first time this weekend. I had left the sealed baby food jar of pectin glue in with my rolling tools for a few weeks. Found it covered with a happy and healthy growth of mold. Trashed it, cleaned out the jar, remixed a fresh batch and I am now storing it in the frige. Is there anything I can add to the mix to suppress mold? perhaps replace 50% of the water with vodka?

Rating - 100%
5   0   0
Interesting question and even more interesting potential solution. I've had a jar in the fridge for over a year now with no problems at all. I don't think alcohol will prevent pectin from setting properly but I've never tried to make rum spiked jam before so I can't say for sure. I'd just keep the big jar in the fridge and pull out a couple of TBSPs as needed when rolling.

And I hope you cleaned the jar really well

Rating - 100%
6   0   0
Why worry? Mix a little at a time & throw it away when it gets old. Not like it costs enough to worry about.
My latest batch of cellulose glue has lived on my desk without refrigeration for a couple months now, just cause I didn't roll a thing for six weeks. No probs whatever. You could switch to cellulose. Bonus -- no taste to cellulose.

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yep, I'd ditch the pectin and not worry about it.
Your pectin used in your gars might mold if you have them long enough.
Or shall I say "PLUME" as most folks call mold. :D
so far, no mold on my roll ups, although who knows what will happen when summer comes and the 80RH swoops in. Right now the house is at 45RH, so drying is a breeze. I've actually been using my roll ups as a humidity source for my humidors.

Dominican56

CRA #99997657
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
They're your cigars. Were it me, I wouldn't cut a corner by using pectin.