What's new

Syphon Coffee Maker - Thoughts?

Rating - 100%
30   0   0
Is it the candle type burner (oil & wick) or the butane burner? If it's the butane then that's a bargain otherwise it's still a decent deal. Hario makes good stuff and the TCA-5 will brew a good 2-3 cups depending on how much you put into a mug.

I have a lot of experience with siphon coffee and the biggest drawback is proper filter storage. Thy use a cloth filter so you need to boil it in water after each use to get rid of the oils (otherwise they become rancid and ruin the taste) then store the filter in water in the fridge for best performance. All of that adds about 5min onto the teardown/cleanup after you brew. Not an everyday coffee maker, but is a great Sat/Sun morning pot. And it makes a truly wonderful cup. It's unique in that the coffee is at the perfect brewing temperature the entire time, opposed to drip or french press where the water is cooling down the whole time it brews.

dscl

BoM October '14
Rating - 100%
68   0   0
Is it the candle type burner (oil & wick) or the butane burner? If it's the butane then that's a bargain otherwise it's still a decent deal. Hario makes good stuff and the TCA-5 will brew a good 2-3 cups depending on how much you put into a mug.

I have a lot of experience with siphon coffee and the biggest drawback is proper filter storage. Thy use a cloth filter so you need to boil it in water after each use to get rid of the oils (otherwise they become rancid and ruin the taste) then store the filter in water in the fridge for best performance. All of that adds about 5min onto the teardown/cleanup after you brew. Not an everyday coffee maker, but is a great Sat/Sun morning pot. And it makes a truly wonderful cup. It's unique in that the coffee is at the perfect brewing temperature the entire time, opposed to drip or french press where the water is cooling down the whole time it brews.
Great info! Thank you for that and the feeling of Deja-vu :D