What's new

Vitolas

Rating - 100%
3   0   0
The best vitola is the corona gorda.

I've been toying with that idea for 25 years, but now I believe it in a sort of religious faith-based conviction kind of way. It is just perfect. When I look through my humi at my year-old-plus homerolls, the ones I can least bare to burn are the cg. I just want to hold them and look at them. When I smoke commercial sticks I feel most at peace, in balance with the universe, when it's a cg in my fingers.

Another amazing vitola is the 40x6.

Robustos are always a sure bet.

Marevas (AKA petite cornoa) are a realistic cigar that offer satisfaction in a reasonable amount of time, and usually pack a powerful flavor relative to other vitolas in the same line.

Torpedoes are a great way to enjoy a fat-gauge blend without throwing out your jaw. Various other figurados seem more like a fun novelty than offering anything uniquely important, and often burn poorly. They are often very beautiful.

Lonsdale, all coronas, the panatela, the lancero are key shapes.

But a good corona gorda, god damn!

Here's the main BOTL vitola thread: http://www.botl.org/threads/best-vitola.80053/

Last edited:
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Since you sent me that 42 RG corona mold that's all I've been rolling. I've lost interest in rolling any other size. It makes a wonderful size, great taste and the smoking time is nearly the same.

Interesting thing is... if I hand roll a cigar without using a mold it usually turns out to be a 'natural' corona gorda. It's a size that I always gravitate towards without thinking about it.

Rating - 100%
11   0   0
I have two molds, a 44RG and a 48 RG. I seem to overstuff the 44 and under fill the 48....if only I'd ordered a 46!

Rating - 100%
3   0   0
I have two molds, a 44RG and a 48 RG. I seem to overstuff the 44 and under fill the 48....if only I'd ordered a 46!