What's new

6mm Filters & the Savinelli

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I haven't had my Savinelli for very long, but I have tried the 3 different 6mm filters I could find for it, and thought for anyone going to give a 6mm filtered pipe a whirl, might find a little review thread of them usefull.

To anyone reading who has some experience with the 6mm filters - Please provide your insights good, bad, or indifferent!

First the Pipe:

Savinelli Lolita 01

I only have 4 pipes including the Lolita pictured above. By far, the Savinelli is my best smoking pipe. So much so, I intend to get another one. I am not sure if I'll get another Lolita or not, but certainly a Savinelli. Considering the price range these fall into - experimenting with them isn't going to kill most. That said, this was the pipe I tested my filters in.

Why a filtered Pipe?
As a way to kill the dreaded tongue bite.

I wanted a filtered pipe as a noob, I smoke fast and have had bite so bad I almost gave up the pipe for good. My 9mm pipe works well, but like I said, this Savinelli works better. That is to say if you are thinking 9mm because the 9mm has the charcoal filters, know that I will probably change to using balsa in my 9mm. But that's another story.

Just to be clear, many don't use filters in their Savinelli's, opting instead to use the insert provided. That's cool too. You certainly can do that. Of course you can't put a filter into a pipe not designed to use one. So there is versatility getting a pipe that can use a filter. Of course that's all personal preference and something only you can decide for yourself. I can however state that the filter indeed does... dare I say it so boldly? Yeah! The filter does stop the bite!

The 6mm Filters:

Falcon - Dr. Grabow - Savenelli

The first thing to note is that the Falcon's and Dr. Grabow's are too long for a Savinelli (Sav). You'll need to cut them to size. Not a big deal, and easy to do.