What's new

"Cigar Wetting"

Rating - 100%
12   0   0
I mentioned this in [ame="http://www.botl.org/community/forums/showthread.php?t=35615"]another post[/ame] and thought I'd share what I'd read on the subject. It sounds crazy but I've talked to a few old-timers now that swear by it. I've tried it out a couple of times and I have to say the cigars burnt very well, but not sure if they burnt better than if I hadn't done this.

Anyhow, this is copied from another forum that copied it from another forum :lookaroun so I'm not sure where the original post came from.

After reading about "Cigar Wetting" on another forum, I have been using this technique for the past two months on almost all the Cuban cigars I smoke.
I am not clear on the exact reasoning but I have been very pleased with the results.

In the original thread the method of wetting was to take the uncut cigar, held at a slight angle with the cap up towards the tap or faucet. With the water running, pass the cigar under the water two or three times, wetting the entire cigar. Then you take your finger and wipe away the excess water being sure the entire cigar is evenly wet.

I do it a bit differently as I have my spray bottle next to my cigar storage. I hold the cigar in my left hand and spray it 3 or 4 times being sure to cover the entire cigar with the spray. Then I wipe down the cigar to spread the moisture evenly and eliminate the excess.

You'll notice that with either method small droplets will appear on the wrapper, this is the reason for wiping with your finger.

Cut the cigar and smoke as normal. At first the wrapper may wrinkle bit, but within the first inch most signs of moisture should disappear.

I wont go into the specifics of the effects of wetting on flavor as it could influence you if you decide to experiment. I would suggest you try this with two machine made or tripa corta cigars side by side. See if you notice any flavor differences.