What's new

DIY Roasting

stroke

Brian
Rating - 100%
71   0   0
I have seen a few threads on this but they're all at least a year old. I am just getting started in this new hobby and looking for some suggestions. I ordered the free sample from coffeeproject.com and roasted the beans in a wok. They turned out OK, but I wasn't too impressed. Then again, I didn't expect to be impressed by my first roast, especially since it was a stove top roast. I have since purchased a West Bend Air Crazy popper. I wanted to go for the Poppery II but the Air Crazy was considerably cheaper and I didn't want to burn a bunch of cash while I'm just testing the waters.

Anyway, I am clueless as to which beans to order. I decided to go with the 4 pound sampler from Sweet Maria's. I know some say they just use samplers to get rid of what they're selling the most or least of, but I figured I'd take a shot at it since I don't have a clue where to start. So, for you home roasters, what kind of beans do you prefer? What about vendors? Thanks in advance!

thejavaman

BoM December 2012
Rating - 100%
160   0   0
Where to start? I've been roasting my own coffee for 10+ years now. Sweet Maria's is a great online store & library. Their selection & quality is second to none and theres nothing sub par about their samplers.

Wok roasting will take skill to master & will probably give you inconsistent results - heat retention, deciphering when the "first crack" & "second crack" starts/ends, extending the "roast profile" to get consistent, repeatable results will all be difficult using a wok.