What's new

How to hold a cigar properly?

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hello everyone. as you all may know i am new to cigar smoking and i believe to have found my favorite cigar so far... Arturo Fuente Chateu..

anyways, a few months ago when i went to the shop the owner taught me how to hold a cigar(using your middle and index finger.. wraping the index around the cigar and supporting with the middle finger underneath.) apparently this is the miami/cuban way as others hold it with their thumbs and index fingers only.

unfortunatly i have the habit of holding it like a cigarette at first but then correct myself.

so how do you hold your cigars?

tubaman

3 Time BoM
Rating - 100%
173   0   0
I hold a cigar between my thumb and two fingers, like you might pick a pencil up off a table.

However, I have always felt you should hold it however you like and anyone who tells you that you are holding it wrong can stuff it.

Ratbert

BoM Oct '07
Rating - 100%
107   0   0
Agree with what has already been said. I alternate between holding it the way that your shopowner described, and between my thumb and index & middle fingers.

Although I rarely see anyone hold it like a cigarette, there's really no wrong way to hold a cigar, only certain methods that are more popular.

oneaday

2007 BoY
Rating - 100%
112   0   0
Does it smoke any different when held different ways? Does it taste any different when held different ways?

Fellas I believe sometimes we over-think this stuff. Cigars should be enjoyed any way you enjoy em. If you relax and enjoy em holding em between your toes (and your flexable enough to do that) then do it. I for one could care less how others hold their cigar, nor should anyone else care how I hold mine.

Volusianator

BoM Nov '07 & Jan '09
Rating - 93.8%
86   4   1
Does it smoke any different when held different ways? Does it taste any different when held different ways?