What's new

IPA N00b suggestions.

BrittS88

Banned
Rating - 100%
9   0   0
So I had my first IPA in like 5 years last night. I was already pretty drunk lol. And thought it was great. Today I decided to have another same kind as last night. However, sober this thing is so ridiculously bitter and kinda grassy? lol. Are they all like this? It's pretty hard for me to drink. Although the more of it I drink the easier it gets. Hahaha. (I'm on my second one.) so my question is are there any IPAs you'd recommend for someone new to IPAs to try. I'm new to craft beers in general.

BrittS88

Banned
Rating - 100%
9   0   0
You guys have such better access to beer than we do up here, but there are a few local IPAs that I really enjoy. Muskoka Brewery's Mad Tom IPA is probably my favourite. If I lived in the States though I'd be a huge fan of anything I could get my hands on from Dogfish Head
This could be the beers talking but I think you just asked me to send you some dogfish head IPAs. Which I think will be doable if I can find them. :)

StogieNinja

Derek | BoM June 2014
Rating - 100%
223   0   0
All of them.

ALL OF THEM!

I'm not a huge beer guy (I'm allergic to alcohol so I can only drink in very small quantity, so I generally stick to stuff like scotch), but I do love IPAs. A few I really like:

Racer 5
7 Seas Rude Parrot
Ninkasi Total Domination IPA

And it's a totally different animal, but I really like 21st Amendment's Back in Black dark IPA

Rating - 100%
66   0   0
LOL....Nope they all taste like that or worse, HA! I enjoy an IPA now and then but the first drink gets me every time. I'd say Seirra Nevada Torpedo is on the milder side for some of these full hop IPA's everyone is putting out these days, but I know others will have some great suggestions as well. I still prefer a good Stout or Porter. you can also look for an IBU (international bitterness units) number on most craft beers, IPA's range from 60IBU to 120IBU.

sean

BoM June 13
Rating - 100%
158   0   0