What's new

ISOM Trip Report

AlohaStyle

BoM Sept '12 & Aug '13
Rating - 100%
185   0   0
Hey fellas,

Long time coming for this write up to say the least, and longer post!?! LOL I promised a report but knew it would take me awhile to write it up and post pictures. I'm still learning to adjust to 2 kids and my life has been crazy lately to say the least. I was smoking a good cigar tonight out back listening to some cuban music which inspired me to get off my ass and finally write this. Here is my original post: http://www.botl.org/community/forums/showthread.php/64133-To-the-ISOM!?highlight=

First thing I will say is that the trip exceeded my expectations and I HIGHLY recommend any of you go to Cuba BEFORE the embargo is lifted. Go with a buddy, go with your wife, go by yourself... you don't need to know Spanish and you will have the time of your life! I originally wanted to go when there wasn't any cigar festival going on as I wanted to see Havana during a quiet time and be able to visit the cigar shops and factories without them being jam packed with other cigar enthusiasts and big shots. I wanted time to sit and talk with locals, not be shunned because I wasn't a big-timer in the industry. But knowing some people were going to the Partagas Festival and deciding it would be fun to be there with some other people, I decided to go during the Partagas Festival last Fall and I sure am glad I did! A group of guys were nice enough to let me hang with them during their trip and I had a blast with them visiting shops, going to dinners, enjoying time at someone's rental house, meeting some industry people that were down to earth and meeting plenty of great people that were in town for the Festival from around the world.