What's new

Mold vs. Bloom - Newbie Question

wdh

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well, I finally found my box of Sublimes and was a bit bummed yesterday to break all the seals and find six sticks with a bunch of.....stuff on them. I think it's mold - doesn't look like the photos of bloom I've seen. OTOH it wipes right off and doesn't leave a stain. I'm fairly new to collecting cigars so this is a bit of a new situation for me....any thoughts from you veterens out there? Thanks in advance -

PS - Sorry, I can't figure out how to get past this 5 post rule for displaying images so the picture can be found on the BOTL site at:

botl.org/community/forums/gallery/150846018e7f7a322.jpg

gpugliese

Beware the penguins...
Rating - 100%
26   0   0
The obvious answer is to send the box to me for extensive testing.

And that's without a doubt some serious mold you've got going on.

Donk

WTF is a Donk?
Rating - 100%
57   0   0
Well, I finally found my box of Sublimes and was a bit bummed yesterday to break all the seals and find six sticks with a bunch of.....stuff on them. I think it's mold - doesn't look like the photos of bloom I've seen. OTOH it wipes right off and doesn't leave a stain. I'm fairly new to collecting cigars so this is a bit of a new situation for me....any thoughts from you veterens out there? Thanks in advance -

First off, You'll need to send me only one For further observation :bouncetau
Second, Wow sorry dude, that is a lot of mold. If the "Mold" wipes off without harming the wrapper and it looks like no mold is on or in the foot of the cigar you should be ok. Wipe it all off with a slightly damp rag and don't put the Sublime in with any other cigars for a while until your sure that the mold will not return. Hope that helps some. Also don't ziplock bag them either, let them breathe in the box or humi where they are going to be stored. Well that is my 2 cents.

wdh

Rating - 0%
0   0   0