What's new

My hiatus: A story of coming out to family

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Dear Brothers and Sisters of the Leaf,

It's been a while since I've been here, and it's been a while since I've smoked a cigar. Very few of you may remember me, but I used to post a couple of posts here and there about half a year ago until March of this year - and that's where this story of mine starts.

I originally joined BOTL.ORG about a year ago around this time; I had turned 18 and ventured into the fascinating world of cigars. Along the way I met many great and very kind fellow BOTL and SOTL, smoked many great cigars, and had plenty of memorable and transcendental experiences. Incredible, I believed, about how great cigars were as a moderated hobby and a way that brought people from all walks of life together to share in the session (or herf!).

But cigars were a hidden world of mine to my family. I was a community college student who still lived at home, with a small travel humidor hidden in his closet, and double-guillotine cutter and Ronson Jet Torch in his drawer away from view.

To be honest, I had it good! I hid my interests well, and my family never noticed. But something inside of me still didn't feel right. I loved my family. They only raised me to become a respectable and honest man - which is what I try to be to this day. As I discerned more about my actions, I came to the realization that in order for me to be a truly honest and respectable/respectful man, I needed to be honest to my parents and tell them the truth.

One night, after about half a year of smoking cigars, I finally told my parents about my moderate hobby for cigars, and everything you can think of that went bad happened. I lived in a family who detested smoking above all things and whose parents never had smoked before. They didn't support my smoking and wanted me to stop.