What's new

New Irons....thoughts??

JLB

Rating - 100%
61   0   0
Gents, looking at getting a new set of irons this year. Probably within the next week or so. Played with hand me downs the entire time I've played. All from my grandfather. Time to upgrade. I played with both his steel and graphite, and tend to prefer the steel. The 2 that I am looking at are the Taylormade Burner Plus, and the Nike SQ Machspeed. Leaning towards the Burners. I know they are older models, but I can still get them new for a great deal. Not looking to spend over 3 bills, as I am a very amateur golfer, but just looking to start improving my game a bit. Great reviews for both, but even more/better for the burners. Any thoughts? I can get them both for about the same price and same club configuration.

Rating - 100%
51   0   0
The burners may be older models but remember that, at one point in time, they were the latest on the market. Go with those and save a few bucks to spend on cigars for the course

Rating - 100%
33   0   1
The burners are really good irons. I've got a set though I've not been playing them lately.

Whenever I'm not playing a lot (last 2-3 years) I always go back to blue dot ping eye 2s. Still the best irons ever made- I found a set 4-5 years ago that were brand new never hit from 30+ years ago. Bent them in 1 degree and reshafted. Best irons I've ever hit by a good margin still.

But to your point the burners are good. They give me 7-8 more yards than the pings I'm hitting for sure. I've just always found better control/action on the greens with ping.

Rating - 100%
33   0   1
Also, depending on how "very amateur" you are, look into game improvement irons before you pull the trigger. Taylormade, as a whole, hits more like playing blades than any other brand IMO, so they're not necessarily for the more amateur players. Most nikes are for the more amateur player in my experience. So definitely hit both before deciding.

Angry Bill

2x BoM, BoY '08
Staff member