What's new

New to BOTL

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone.

I joined yesterday and thought that I would take a moment to introduce meself. My name is Adam and I’m a user experience designer in New York City. I’ve also been smoking cigars for almost 22 years.

This community, the family of cigar smokers, is unlike any other. I love that I can walk into a lounge, here in the city, or in London or Miami; I guess anywhere really, and know that everyone is approachable. It’s the only community where all biases are left at the door. It doesn’t matter who you are. What your background is. How much money you have. We are linked by our love of the cigar.

I always like to think that when I am purchasing a cigar I am really purchasing an experience. A unique experience that can never be replicated. So I’m going to ask a question to everyone.

I remember reading somewhere that there are two things every man or woman remembers. Their first love and their first cigar.

**So what was your first cigar? How old were you? Where were you? And anything else you’d like to share.**

As for me. I was 17. Living in New Jersey. I don’t recall if I was with anyone else. Or why I was drawn to cigars let alone the one I purchased. But I can say it was a cigar I should never have messed with as a newbie. My first cigar was a 1996/97 LFD DL Robusto. I smoked it to the nub. And to this day... LFD is still my favorite brand.

But I’m curious about my question above. I’d love to hear your responses.

A

Last edited:
Rating - 100%
143   0   0
Welcome brother. Very well written.
My first cigar was in 2001 with my boss at work, we celebrated his last day with company. I don’t remember the name, but it was a bundled cigar. We sat outside smoking and talking. A week later a mutual friend offered me a job with a new company, so I took it. Low and behold my previous boss and 5 techs all went to work at a new startup. No one could talk about it as we all had non compete clauses. Been smoking ever since