What's new

"Oust" fan alternative.

Rating - 100%
14   0   0
I'm relatively new to BOTL, and being a tinkerer - perhaps this may help others.

For those that are using the "oust" fans, there is an alternative. For years, we have used a battery operated fan in our RV fridge. I have been studying, and paying close attention to my new fridge a dor and it's operation. I'm pretty sure from reading others experiences with condensation, the more air you can move-the better off you are. If you aren't going to hard wire a pancake or other 110v fan, and would like an alternative to the "oust" here you go.

They substantially move more air than the oust, the downside is the battery's will need to be changed more often (every month). I don't have a problem with the battery issue. I will be changing out my oust fans for a pair of these. They are only a few $$ more, and can be had at most RV supply stores. There are even a few listed at the "bay". Just have to remember to change out your batteries monthly.:applause:

Attachments

Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Sounds great, I will have to make modifications for my little dor. Welcome, by the way, I have not been on here long and I think that this place is great. I find myself checking into the board between meetings or to take a mental break throughout the day.

Enjoy:smile:

Rating - 100%
14   0   0
What is the acctual name of these. I was just looking at the oust fan
Valterra Fridgemate RV Refrigerator Fan Battery Operated

I thought I had done my homework pretty well, before buying my 2 oust fans. I even modified them, by removing all the material in front of the blade. But they just don't push enough air for me. I don't know why, I didn't think of these little guys before. Well actually I do, I went with what others here had work for them. Unlike the oust fans, these push the air vertically. I'm pretty sure they could be laid on their side to get air moving horizontally.