What's new

resting a pipe

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I know many of you probably read the title and are ready to kill me for even asking. But, I will defend myself and say I searched and did not come up with a satisfactory answer for my question before posting this thread.

That being said, I am new to the pipe world. I have read that resting a pipe is of great necessity, but what about smoking a bowl then waiting a little while and smoking that same pipe again. Typically when I smoke cigars with a few friends we will smoke one, and then wait a little while, usually just long enough to get a refill on that nights drinks, then smoke another cigar. In order to do this with a pipe would I need two pipes or should I do this and then allow the pipe to rest for an even longer period of time. Also, if I were to do this should I stick with the same tobacco or is changing it alright. I have heard and experienced that when smoking cigars like this it is best to smoke the lighter of the two first then finish with the heavier cigar. Is this true with a pipe, or is smoking a pipe like this not even recommended?

Thanks ahead of time for the help, and sorry for being that newb posting this thread.

gibbleguts

BoM april 09
Rating - 100%
166   0   0
I don't smoke a pipe very often but I usually try to let them rest at least a day or two between bowls. Given the choice I generally let them rest a week in between ( part of the reason I don't smoke too often). I would also say that most would prefer to keep similar blends to a pipe. So maybe one for Virginia, one for English/Balkans one for aromatics. This may be a little over simplifying things but I prefer English and Balkan blends so not much else see's my pipes but I do have a couple set aside for virginias.

Boppa-Wasch

BoM March '07
Rating - 100%
65   0   0