What's new

Seed or soil?

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm pretty new to the whole scene and totally new to the forum, so maybe you could clear something up for me:

Criollo 98, Corojo 99, Habano 2000, and Piloto Cubano are seeds that, like the seed of any plant, you can stick in the ground anywhere but produce dramatically different products depending on exactly where. What I think I often see on BOTL are rollers referring to the leaf available by the seed it came from. Nicaraguan-grown Criollo 98, for example, is sold on Leaf Only as "Nicaraguan", while WLT sells Nicaraguan Criollo as "Criollo 98" (judging by the wrapper description, as the primings don't specify) and they also offer "Nicaraguan Habano", "Honduras Habano", and a region ambiguous "Habano 2000 Wrapper". Leaf Only's offerings of leaf grown in the Dominican Republic come from Piloto seed, while WLT has Dominican "Corojo 99" and "Piloto Cubano" as well as primings and wrapper simply described as "Dominican".

So what exactly are Brothers of the Leaf referring to when they say something like "Criollo and Corojo go great together"? I can see that "Criollo" could safely be assumed Nicaraguan from our two primary sources, and maybe "Corojo" refers to WLT's Dominican Corojo since it's the only reference to the seed on either site.

Is that right?

Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Not that I'm completely sure what you want to know but, from what it sounds like, yes.
You may want to ask that botl member what leaf they meant and/or, you might want to check with that distributor of said leaf directly to origin of growth.

Last edited:
Rating - 100%
3   0   0
So what exactly are Brothers of the Leaf referring to when they say something like "Criollo and Corojo go great together"? I can see that "Criollo" could safely be assumed Nicaraguan from our two primary sources, and maybe "Corojo" refers to WLT's Dominican Corojo since it's the only reference to the seed on either site.

Is that right?