What's new

Vacuum Packing your smokes

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Has any one explored the use of a vacuum sealer to maintain cigars? I'm new to the hobby and probably thinking rather radical to the experienced reader.

Rating - 100%
110   0   0
Has any one explored the use of a vacuum sealer to maintain cigars? I'm new to the hobby and probably thinking rather radical to the experienced reader.
While not bad for shipping it would not be good for long term storage. The cigars need to breath in order to give off the residual ammonia and other chemicals that continue to off gas as they age.

rick12string

Caught in the Crossfire
Rating - 100%
11   0   0
I think I would only do it if I had to freeze cigars to kill beetle infestation and hopefully it will never have to!

oneaday

2007 BoY
Rating - 100%
112   0   0
Lots of discussions over the years, ever since seal-a-meal came out. Ive probably seen hundreds of opinions, a few avid believers at either end of the spectrum. Most seem to feel it would retard the aging process. I tend to agree with eodcole as do most of the more reconized "experts". I don't believe anyone has tried this over an extended period
of time, at least not anyone that I've heard of.

Rating - 100%
51   0   0
Does not seem like a good idea to me, but I heard one of the most prominate cigar experts MRN recomend this for long term aging.

Moro

BoM Decembre '08
Rating - 100%
29   0   0
Anybody has a vacuum packer and a few $2 cigars? We could find out. (I'm missing a vacuum packer. They won't lend me the one at school for this)

Mitch

BOM 2/09-Keeper BOTtLe
Rating - 100%
133   0   0