What's new

Greetings from Madison, WI

Rating - 100%
43   0   0
Hi all,

I'm new to the forum, and to cigar smoking in general, so here's my introduction. I'm a graduate student in Madison, WI with a newly discovered taste for cigars. A year or so at a family gathering, my uncle shared a couple of Cohibas (Dominican, I assume) with me. Well, they tasted great, but the prices I saw online were pretty high, so I didn't pursue it further.

A couple of months ago, my wife took me to a local food & wine show. There was a booth representing a local cigar store, and after telling the owner I was a total newbie, he picked out 3 cigars for me to start with: a CAO Cameroon, a Padron Maduro, and a CAO Brazilia. I started with the Cameroon. Wow! Nothing like the cheap drugstore cigars I had tried in the past! The Padron was good (but not amazing), and the Brazilia was delicious.

So I bought a few samplers online and locally (and recently discovered c-bid...), and I found the B&M store for the tobaccanist from the food & wine show. This time, he sold me another CAO Cameroon, a Torano 1916 Cameroon (started off great, but got a bit tarry), a Romeo y Julieta Maduro Reserve (in the tupperdor), a Rocky Patel 1999 Connecticut (nice), and Rocky Patel 1990 (amazing! just received some 1992s from c-bid), and a Fuente Gran Reserva (looks like a Hemingway; haven't smoked it yet).

So now, my tupperdor has a CAO sampler, some RP Vintage 1992s, a Torano Exodus 1959, an AF Hemingway, RyJ Maduro, a Puros Indios (from a sampler; are they really THAT bad?), an RP Sun Grown, and probably a few others I'm forgetting, and I've got a five-pack of CAO Black VRs on the way from c-bid.