What's new

How long to wait?

Rating - 100%
16   0   0
Just received my first box, a 2003 Saint Luis Rey Series A. I know I need to let these sit for awhile, but I wonder how long do I need to wait. Is the wait longer for newer years, and less for older years? If so, what would you consider an older year.

Sorry for so many questions all at once, my curosity is running wild.

Cheers,

Mike

kirscovitch

Mad Matt
Rating - 100%
51   0   0
being a newb myself the advice i got was go ahead and smoke one now, for a base line. let the rest sit and rest for about a month. they've come a long way and need to "sleep". try another after that and see if theres a difference.:smokingbo

caudio51

BoM Nov '05; Mar '06
Rating - 96%
32   1   0
Since the cigars are from 2003 they are out of their sick period. You can let them sit 2 weeks to a month to stabilize the RH from their trip. In terms of aging, it's really all personal preference. Guys will pull a stick out every now and then and see how they are smoking.

So basically, you can smoke them in about 2 weeks to a month and then after that it is up to you to decide when they are ready to smoke.

Rating - 100%
10   0   0
In general, you need to let them rest at least a week. I personally prefer a month. The problem is when you are first building your collection it's REALLY hard to wait. The compromise is to smoke one now and be a little disappointed, then smoke one at a week then one at a month. You will indeed see the difference. But, if you want all your smokes that you paid good money for to smoke like they should...wait the month.

cvm4

BoM - July '05 & Dec. '10
Rating - 100%
197   0   0
I'd wait about a month to smoke one so it'd be at the proper humidity. You can't really get a baseline for the cigar when it hasn't been humidified for a week or two, IMO.

N2Advnture

Loyal to a fault...
Rating - 100%
59   0   0