What's new

Is This Cigar Over Hyped Or Is It Me?

Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Hey guys. I hope everyone had a good New Years. I have a question for the group. Over the weekend I has a Drew Estate Liga Privada 9 Robusto. I had purchased a couple based on glowing reviews from various review sites ( which I don’t put a lot of stock in) and a couple of groups I belong to whose membership is made up of regular everyday cigar enthusiasts (like the brethren here whose opinions I do have faith in). I didn’t find the stick to be all that. I didn’t get a lot of flavor complexity. I know I’m fairly new to this and my palate may not be that developed yet and I don’t want to bash this stick. Has anyone else had a similar experience with this cigar or do you think it’s just my lack of experience?

Rating - 100%
5   0   0
One of the things I consider when rating a cigar (to repurchase or not) is it's price. If it was a $4 cigar would you have enjoyed it more? I think that's the common thread about the Ligas, good but no longer worth their cost. The one's I've smoked I enjoyed immensely but probably not enough to pay full price.

Dran

"That guy"
Rating - 100%
33   0   0
I wouldn't say lack of experience, more a matter of personal preference. Tastes change frequently when you first get started, you might want to revisit it down the road, but it may just not be for you. Ive had sticks that others love and i put down halfway through in utter disappointment. Theres also sticks i love that get bashed around here frequently. Don't get too hung up if you dont like something that many others seem to.

Rating - 100%
1   0   0
You make a great point Boudie. It makes me wonder if I didn’t go into it “prejudiced” by it’s price as well as the hype expecting to be blown away. I am learning how subjective tastes can be Dran. As a chef I understand and can identify flavors but am just learning how to adapt that skillset to cigars. The research sure I’d fun though.

Rating - 0%
0   0   0