What's new

Knife Sets

Craig Mac

BoM 4/10 7/11 12/14
Rating - 100%
446   0   0
Looking to upgrade my "drawer o' knives" as seen here
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1427081183.051772.jpg

I have looked at the sets with a block that are in $50 range but they seem cheap, dull, not balanced and not what I am looking for. I worked in a restaurant years ago, so I know how expensive good knives can be.

I'm a single guy and don't do a ton of cooking to justify some super high end chef set. Thinking more along the lines of something around the $150 mark. It doesn't have to be a big knife set, just something maybe 8 various pieces of much higher quality than what I've been using. Considering that I rent, a knife block to store them on the counter would be best.

Any suggestions of a good knife set around that price that would work for me?

sofc

I hate E and Chef
Rating - 100%
276   0   0
I have a few "nice" for home knives Craig. Some very expensive, some just expensive and the $23 Victorinox I got from Amazon has kept a sharper edge and is clearly cheaper than the other ones i have. I don't know if they have a set though.

Rating - 100%
51   0   0
You don't actually need that many. A good paring knife, 10" or 12" chef's knife, a 10" serrated knife, and a boning knife are all you really need.

You can spend a shit ton of money on Henckle or Wusthoff but most of my friends who are working chefs all swear by Dexter-Russel in their kitchens. Get the rubber soft grip.

Last edited:

sofc

I hate E and Chef
Rating - 100%
276   0   0
You don't actually need that many. A good paring knife, 10" or 12" chef's knife, a 10" serrated knife, and a boning knife are all you really need.

You can spend a shit ton of money on Henckle or Wusthoff but most of my friends who are working chefs all sweat by DexterRussel in their kitchens. Get the rubber soft grip.
you just made me buy a bread knife.

Craig Mac

BoM 4/10 7/11 12/14
Rating - 100%
446   0   0