What's new

Magic: The Gathering

Rating - 100%
30   0   0
So I THINK this is the appropriate section, since it is a game. I did a quick search and didn't see a thread, but if there is, will someone link it? I just started playing mtg ~6 weeks ago and was trying to see if anyone else was a mega nerd like me.

If there are brothers that do play, what format?

btubes18

The Thing
Rating - 100%
149   0   0
I played with real cards like 15 years ago...actually think I still have my original cards...do they play this online now?

dscl

BoM October '14
Rating - 100%
68   0   0
I played from 1993 - 2005 or there abouts. About 5 years ago or so I started playing Warcraft TCG and that was fun too.

Recently however, last year, I've been playing a LOT of Hearthstone. Think a free-to-play digital collectible card game that is basically like cocaine. Seriously the game is beautifully done, free, and I can play with any of my friends over the net.

dscl

BoM October '14
Rating - 100%
68   0   0
To answer your questions when I played tournaments I stayed away from constructed and did a lot of block, draft, and sealed format.

Rating - 100%
51   0   0
How young of an age would you say Magic is suitable for?

My 6 year old (turns 7 in January) is totally into Pokemon cards and would probably make the transition to something MTG, when the time is right

dscl

BoM October '14
Rating - 100%
68   0   0
How young of an age would you say Magic is suitable for?

My 6 year old (turns 7 in January) is totally into Pokemon cards and would probably make the transition to something MTG, when the time is right
MtG is significantly more complex that Pokemon (I played that fairly serious as well).

I would put Hearthstone on a laptop or iPad and take that as the next step. Even if the intent is to graduate to MtG later on.

Rating - 100%
30   0   0
Jon plays Hearthstone. I'll play it sometimes, but haven't in a while