What's new

You know what sucks?

Rating - 100%
99   0   1
As most of you guys know I am a chef and most of my guys are from South America.(all legal) Well my first cook is from el Salvador and he is a stand up dude. He tells me a friend of his went to Cuba And picked me up a box of Cohiba esplendidos. I was thrilled of course. So he has them shipped up with the bands and box tags sperately. He was paranoid and afraid they would get confiscated. He comes in Friday And hands me a envelope and freezer bag full of cigars. I was pumped then I opened the envelope and saw these and now I think he got dupped. I don't have the heart to tell him because he wouldn't take any money. He said they were for all that I have taught him. The worst part is he kept a couple for himself because he never had a real one and wanted to see what all the hype was about. I'm hoping you guys can prove me wrong as I am such a noob on Habanos but I think they a bogus.

Attachments

gibbleguts

BoM april 09
Rating - 100%
166   0   0
The bands don't look good, is where I will start. I am unfortuneately going to say that they are fakes but the truest way to be sure is to sample one yourself. Or if really questionable slice one open to see what the tobacco look like. Opening it up will also give you a better ability to smell if the tobacco has been properly aged.

Even without the bad bands my first thought on Esplendido's that come through questionable channels is fakes

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hmm...no expert here, but the first thing that jumped out at me were the Cohiba letters being flat printed, not gold embossed raised lettering.

Clint

Clint
Rating - 100%
206   0   1
Ultimate authority and resource on Havanas:
http://www.cubancigarwebsite.com/index.htm
(look under packaging)